If you haven’t heard of this movie, I don’t know whether to pity you or envy you. Often hailed as one of, if not the worst movie ever made, this 1990 cinematic (I use that term loosely) train wreck has a certain wonder to it.

Oddly enough, this strange MGM film (Yes, MGM as in Metro Goldwyn Mayer. I’m sure many people got fired over this.) has had a resurgence of popularity in the past few years. Well, not a “resurgence,” because that implies it was popular before, but you know what I mean.

My friend Catheryn introduced me to “Troll 2” about two years ago.  I had never heard of it before, and I wasn’t sure what to expect. Looking back, that was a good thing, because, had I had any expectations whatsoever, they would not have been met.

Where do I begin? The plot, about a family tormented by vegetarian goblins in the town of Nilbog (get it?), has more holes than a cheese grater, the acting (again, I use that term loosely) is bad at best, the characters are terrible, there is not a single troll in the movie (not kidding, the villains are goblins), and the film itself is painfully long. These are a very, VERY few of the blaring faults with this film. Ever heard of Martin Luther’s 95 Theses? That’s all I’m saying…

(If you’re a glutton for punishment and want to find out more, visit the Wikipedia link above.)

If you have never had the “privilege” to watch this travesty of film, take a look at some of these clips or watch the whole thing on streaming Netflix. I dare you.
If you still have both eyes after, I salute you.

So why has this 21 year old turd become suddenly popular? To be honest, I have no idea. You know how people say something is “so bad it’s good?” That doesn’t even begin to cover it. The film has had such an explosion in popularity that a documentary was even made by the child star of “Troll 2,” Michael Paul Stephenson, now grown up and married, entitled “Best Worst Movie!” (Side note, it is a superb documentary. Watch it if you get the chance.)

Yet, despite all the glaring issues with the film like, I don’t know, THE FACT THAT THERE’S NOT A SINGLE TROLL IN THE MOVIE, the film is just plain fun. Imagine getting a professional massage while lying on a bed of nails; it’s painful, but wonderful. It’s almost as if the film was made to be mocked.

But let’s be honest, any film bad enough to literally receive a 0% rating on rottentomatoes.com’s TomatoMeter has got to be worth a watch.

